Once upon a time….someone told me I was stripey.

Well, let’s try this “lighthearted post” thing again.

(Seriously, how do I go about doing this? Haha!)

So, this morning, I was putting on my socks, and noticing the fact that they were both “stripey socks.” And that reminded me of a story.

It was my first Mission Mexico trip, the summer after 10th grade. A bunch of us had gone to Target in El Paso for some reason or another, and we were standing around waiting for the rest of our group to finish shopping. This was when a friend of mine looked at me and said,

“Anna! What happened to your legs? They’re all stripey!”

As I stood there wracking my brain for something to say, he made another observation:

“And your arms are stripey too!”

Of course, at the time, I was panicking, because I had no idea how to respond to that. I had been wearing t-shirts again for a while, but this was one of the first times I had gone out in shorts. I was majorly self-conscious about my bare arms and legs.

It’s been around 8 years now, and I’m much more comfortable with my arms and legs now. My legs especially, I just don’t think much about people seeing them anymore. My arms are a little more visible, so the thought of people seeing them crosses my mind more, but it doesn’t bother me most of the time – and never enough to stop wearing short sleeves again. I rarely get comments anymore. If anybody notices (which I’m sure they must, especially with my left arm), they just don’t say anything about it.

And at this point, I wouldn’t so much mind if they did mention them – they are a part of me, after all, and they’re not going away anytime soon! Even jokes, as long as they’re not insensitive, would be fine.

Because honestly? That story just makes me laugh every time I think about it. I think it’s hilarious!

Best reaction to my scars ever.

Stripey…hahaha….well, I suppose I am.

This entry was posted in Recovery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

